Thurles Drama Group

The Seafarer

by Conor McPerson

Please note earlier start time to allow for adjudications and presentations
— No Interval —

11 March 2023
7.30 p.m.

The theatre doors will close strictly at 7.30!
Please be seated by 7.20.

(Please note: no food or drink will be allowed in the theatre during any performance, as this is a competition.)

The Play

It’s Christmas Eve, and Sharky has returned to Dublin to look after Richard, his irascible and ageing brother, who has recently gone blind. Sharky, an alcoholic, is battling to get through Christmas without a drink. Richard’s drinking buddy Ivan is holed up at the house too. They are joined for a game of poker by Sharky’s old love rival, Nicki, who brings along the mysterious Mr Lockhart. In their alcohol induced world they drink, they fight and they gamble. But, with the arrival of this stranger from the distant past, the stakes are raised even higher, as Sharky may be playing for his very soul.


James "Sharky" Harkin

Pat Loughnane

Richard Harkin

Liam Ryan

Ivan Curry

Matt Tracey

Nicky Giblin

Donal Ryan

Mr. Lockhart

David McElgunn



Margaret McCormack

Set Design

Anne O'Dwyer

Stage Manager

Geraldine Morrissey


Mary Slattery


Dean Rossiter
Michael Blake


Dick Ryan
Kevin Kirwan


Margaret Culleton
Lindsay Dunphy
Geraldine Morrissey


Helen Cahill


Greta Murphy


Martin Fitzgerald
Pat Loughnane


Caroline Nesbitt (

Stage Crew

Anne O'Dwyer
Peter Stocksborough
Johnny Fogarty
Liam Crowe
Alexs Barron
Denis Slattery
Martin Fitzgerald
Dick Ryan
Thomas O'Shaughnessy

The Group

Thurles Drama Group presents two three-act plays yearly in the Source Arts Centre. Over a period of fifty-six years they have produced plays of every genre, and always of the highest quality. The group has recently bought an old cinema/parish hall which has been refurbished into their own drama hall. They are looking forward to the official opening of The Bríd Ryan Drama Centre in 2023.
The group has been competing on the three-act festival circuit over a number of years, and have reached the All-Ireland Finals in Athlone on eight occasions.